Blog Guest: Author Krista D. Ball

It is with great pleasure I welcome today my guest, published author Krista D. Ball, who will talk about:

Underrepresented Peoples in Genre Fiction

Krista says:


A few weeks ago, I was asked to recommend a good gay science fiction. My response? “Gays have been eradicated from the future.”

While my friend thought it was a joke, I meant it. I have been disappointed at the low number of genre books I’ve read, outside of erotica, that have multi-racial relationships, different religions, the full range of sexual orientations, and aboriginal peoples. Too many books are “western straight white,” even when they are supposedly alternative worlds.

This bothers me greatly. The world possesses a wide range of peoples and cultures and landscapes. I want to read more books featuring different peoples. I want books with gay knights in shining armour, aboriginal heroines, Inuit hunters, and female warriors.

In my latest short story, The Amazing Transformation of Wicca Dog, I’ve opted to make the main character, Robert, a Wiccan. While the story is light-hearted at its core, it features a minority religion. It’s my small way of trying to restore the balance and equity.

For the month of August, The Amazing Transformation of Wicca Dog, is free for download here.

Krista D. Ball


Krista D. Ball is a Canadian SF&F author, who enjoys turning sterotypes and traditions upside down. Look for her upcoming novelette, Harvest Moon, a Canadian First Nations story with a gender-bending twist on the “damsel in distress” theme.


Come and enjoy the adventures of a fantasy writer at www.kristadball.com

5 thoughts on “Blog Guest: Author Krista D. Ball

  1. *nod nod* Have you read any of Elizabeth Bear’s work? She does SF and F, and often has a wide range of cultural characters (and various sexual orientations). 😉

    I agree, though–in general I’d like to see MORE.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Blog Guest: Author Krista D. Ball « Jay Di Meo's Blog -- Topsy.com

  3. I have an Elizabeth Bear book sitting in the “Must Read” basket because she’s been recommended as an alternative author.

    I would also like to see more. Too many authors seem to think that they need to make a huge statement if they include someone not white or straight or christian. Not true at all! In fact, that’s a turn off. I want to see difference peoples and how they are interacting with the situation of the book…not a sermon about culture 🙂

  4. I notice this often too. I never do that in my stories though. I have all colors, all types of relationships, and all types of religions.

    If only more authors did! I mean, I’ve seen a few more popular series lately with gay characters, but that’s only a marginal gain.

Leave a Reply

