Sunday thoughts

Okay, let’s get down to it, shall we? *rubs hands together*

Writing in English is relatively new to me. English is not my native language *points at name which is obviously not English* but one has to write in the lingua france of the times. At the time of Christ, the world spoke Greek. Later on, Latin. At some point, the international language was French.

Well now it is English, so there. 🙂

Writing in a foreign language can be tough. For one, I tend to overuse expressions, idioms, repeat words. Thesauruses are my best friends – those, and the critique websites I belong to. I firmly believe that if one is serious about writing, one should join a critique website. It’s a life/writing saver!

Next, thank God for internet! Without google, I’d be lost. Praise Wikipedia and online dictionaries. Even if the information isn’t always correct, it does point one in a direction of research.

Writing is tough business – and also the best fun one can have by themselves not involving a vibrator! Cheaper, too. 😉 Voyeurs might get a kick out of intruding in other people’s lives – I get a kick out of living my characters’ lives. It is like entering their bodies and minds and experiencing everything – a little like Gattaka the movie. I love it! As a reader I love it as well, but writing the story myself is a thousand times better, as I can control it and give it all the elements that appeal to me (those be angst, danger, tension, sex – if I think of more, I’ll let you know). I can put my characters through all the pain and fear I want (let it be known I am an evil writer – I love to torture my MCs, esp. the hot, pretty boys). And I can give the stories a happy ending, which is important to me.

Convinced you should write too, yet? 🙂 If not, wait for my next post. Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

